Music Review: Big Daddy Weave's "Christ Is Come"


You know the year is drawing to a close when recording artists open the Christmas CD floodgates.  The challenge for these artists is to create something timeless (giving honor to the traditional Christmas music we all sing) and yet original (substantial thought-provoking songs that properly convey the meaning of the holiday).

One group that has successfully walked this timeless/original tightrope is Big Daddy Weave, with the release of their new Christmas CD Christ is Come, produced by the band's own Jeremy Redmon. 

"Over the past couple of years we have recorded Christmas songs for various Christmas compilation projects," says Big Daddy Weave frontman, Mike Weaver. "Then fans at shows began asking about a full length record, so when Fervent Records approached us about making this one, it just seemed like the right time."

If you are a die-hard fan of the classic Christmas songs like "Joy to the World", "Angels We Have Heard On High", and "O Come All Ye Faithful", you'll enjoy the fresh post-modern treatments of these Christmas classics done by Big Daddy Weave.  Case in point – "Go Tell it on the Mountain"; a typical down-home romper-stomper gets an extreme makeover with a minor-key pseudo-Middle Eastern style, with tabla, tambourine, and strings!  When we've all sang these songs a billion times, it's great to hear Mike Weaver's earnest passion and sincerity on these titles, like he's singing them for the first time.  It renews our love for these traditional titles.

Clearly, the most touching original song on the CD is "I'll Be Brave This Christmas", which dramatizes a letter, written by a boy to his father who is serving overseas in the military. 

I'll be brave this Christmas/while you're still far away/and I kneel beside by bed each night/praying Jesus keeps you safe.

If you know ANYONE who has celebrated Christmas while loved ones are out of town or out of State serving in our armed forces, you know how bittersweet Christmas can be with that one empty chair at the dinner table.  Kudos to Mike Weaver and the Weaves for paying homage to our brave military, and the military families that sacrifice here at home!

Expanding your Christmas music collections just got a little simpler with the release of Christ is Come.  In a time when many band's new releases sound like re-treads of their older releases, Big Daddy Weave puts forth a fresh reverent CD that will help keep Christmas 2009 fresh in our hearts. 

Track Listing
1.   Come All Ye Faithful  
2.   Silent Night  
3.   Hark the Herald Angels Sing  
4.   Joy to the World  
5.   God Rest Ye/Carol of the Bells  
6.   Ill Be Brave  
7.   O Come O Come Emmanuel  
8.   Peace On Earth  
9.   Glory to God In the Highest  
10.   Go Tell it On the Mountain  
11.   Christ is Come  
12.   Ring the Bells 


Fish Features

View All